Hubris – Sept. 13

Prompt: A bard on his deathbed, the last survivor of his party, writes a ballad for his fallen friends.

Hubris

“I call this one ‘Requiem for the Musty Corps.’ It’s my last chance to memorialize the best group of scavengers, rogues, barbarians and companions a dragonborn tiefling could ask for.

It’s the most emotional and meaningful ballad I have ever written. I feel it is the least I can do to commemorate their lives and our adventures.

« Let me tell you a story
About the best team around.
The voyages we took around the globe
Saw us visit every foreign ground.
They were the finest of friends
A bloke could ever have had.
It’s truly sad to think about
How it ended up so bad.

These idiots never listened
To anything I had to say.
When we got to that cursed cave
I begged them to stay far away.
In they went despite my warnings
I urged them to give it a pass.
They laughed in my face as they entered
If only they could smell the gas.

It got darker the deeper we went
They didn’t see the harm.
As they reached to set alight the torch
I screamed with urgent alarm.
One final chuckle was all I heard
As they struck the matchhead.
If only those fuckers had listened to me
They wouldn’t all now be dead. »

I loved those guys and gals. They were my family. But their hubris, which served us so well in battles, was their undoing.

But now I can join them in the great beyond.

Leave a comment