Pride and Prejudice

I read this book. I finally finished it last night.

I read it because it’s a so-called classic, and it fits into my hope/goal/dream/obsession(?) to read as many “classics” as I can. Whether I will succeed at that or not, we shall have to see.

Anyway. I read it, and now I wish to give you my thoughts on it.

And away we go…

This book actually fits perfectly with the admonition I have received from acquaintances about maybe it’s not a great idea to read the “classics.”

Because I wasn’t too impressed.

I can’t really say that I disliked the book on the whole. But there certainly were some parts of it that just simply rankled me.

Now, a large part of that is because it’s a product of its time.

Some examples of things that bug me about literature of that age and origin:

  • liberal use of ‘Miss/Mrs/Mr {last name}’ to the point where sometimes I have trouble keeping track of to whom the narrator is referring
  • a corollary to the above is women immediately taking the ‘Mrs {last name}’ form upon marriage and rather sparse use of their first names henceforth
  • spelling differences
  • the fact some place names are blanked out (—shire); why is this necessary?

But I think the one thing that really raised my hackles was Elizabeth’s shift in opinion towards Mr. Darcy. I had conceptions that she would be this hero of the tale, spurning the advances of men whom she disliked and forging her own path.

Nope.

She comes around and falls in love with this man.

I’m not going to call it weakness. A woman is perfectly capable of making up her own mind and do what she wants. It is totally her prerogative.

I just feel it cheapens Elizabeth as the protagonist. And for that sin, I can’t really say I liked this book. I was continuing reading, thinking to myself, “Please, Lizzy, don’t fall for him. Stick to your convictions. You don’t need a man. I don’t care that it’s the 1700s.

