Familial resemblances

Another post in my burgeoning tradition of nearly complete non sequiturs.

Let’s get on with it!

Now, this is by no means a shocking realization, but it always amazes me when I see it — members of the same bloodline (i.e. family) tend to look somewhat similar. Or at least share similar traits.

And while I do see the resemblances in others and other people’s families, it’s even neater when I see it in my own family.

I think the reason why I find it especially neat is largely because I don’t see my family that often. As in the last time I saw any of them before my trip home in December 2014 was December 2012. And I think the only ones I saw were my parents, maybe my brother and definitely that one aunt who’s my age.

Cousins? Before this last trip, I don’t know. Other parents’ siblings? Again, no idea. Grandparents? My mom’s parents were in the summer of 2012; my dad’s mom was that same summer of 2012 trip. My dad’s dad? Before then.

One advantage, if you can call it that, with the giant gaps in seeing them is noticing how the younger members of the family clearly look like their parents from different angles.

There were a few times on my last trip home where I commented to my parents (outside of earshot of the person to whom I was referring) that “so-and-so is definitely his/her parent’s child.”

Of course, I have trouble seeing the resemblance between me and my brother. Then again, I don’t really look at myself that often, and I rarely see him these days.

