The Graduate

I just finished watching The Graduate.

You all know it — the film about the college grad who has an affair with a married woman by the name of Mrs. Robinson.

Well, that’s all I knew about it. And let me tell you, there’s a lot more to it.

I think the one thing that surprised me about the movie is how I need to stop believing everything The Simpsons does. For example, the final scene at the church. I had thought Benjamin was banging on the glass to get Mrs. Robinson’s attention and to stop the wedding. Nope. He was actually doing it for Elaine Robinson.

Further to that, I had no idea there was a younger love interest in the storyline.

Now, in all honesty, I only watched this movie because it’s one of those films people say you “should watch.” So watch it I did.

I’m not disappointed.

It was a bit awkward in the beginning when Mrs. Robinson was trying to rope Benjamin in and he was evidently trying to figure out what she meant while not wanting to say it out loud. And then he does and everything goes all the more uncomfortable.

It was a very interesting film. I’m not sure what else I can say.

