So you’re gay

It seems homosexuality has been a hot topic on this blog of late. It happens; my mind tends to wander all over the place at times.

So, getting to the point, I suppose I should be saying congratulations to Ellen Page for coming out of the closet. It’s obviously a big deal for her, and I have nothing but respect for her for owning her own identity.

But perhaps it’s a factor of the age we live in, and the way society is changing, that I don’t really see what the point is of this being a big deal in the wider media.

I mean, I doubt anyone worth their salt is going to really care that Ellen is gay. It doesn’t change the person she is when it comes to her work. Her acting chops aren’t going to suddenly atrophy or become stronger simply by virtue of her sexuality now being known for sure. Now, maybe her roles will change, either because producers (or whoever makes that call) want her to play gay roles or she will want to branch out into roles more suiting who she publicly is.

Any maybe the charitable causes she supports will change as she now will focus on those that seek to help young, in gay youth navigate the coming-out process.

I don’t know.

But what I do know is that in our constantly evolving society, I fail to see how sexuality affects who a person is.

I know for me, and I said this to a friend who recently came out, “I don’t know what to say. I would never have guessed it. Not like it matters what I thought. Good on you! This changes absolutely nothing in my mind. You’re still [name redacted]. Now go kick some serious ass!”

The only time someone’s sexuality matters to me is if I’m attracted to her and she’s gay (meaning we won’t be getting together) or if he’s gay and coming on to me (I’m flattered, but I don’t swing that way).

Otherwise, you’re who you are.

I think it says more about society that many gay people feel the need to hide who they are.

And that’s sad.

When will people realize that who you love has no bearing on who you are as a person?

