Gay sex and magnets

Read this!

Done? Good.

OK.

Say what you will about the “naturalness” of homosexuality. It’s forbidden in the Bible, so therefore it should be outlawed. It’s icky. Giving the LGBTQ community equal rights will inevitably lead to people marrying their pet dogs.

I don’t really care what your argument against homosexuality is.

Each of those above examples at least have a grounding in some form of logic, however flawed it may be.

But.

Let me take a snippet out of the above piece:

Chibuihem Amalaha, who has won awards in his country for reporting on energy science and featured on various national television stations, says he used a magnet experiment to prove homosexuality is “improper.”

Amalaha says his “groundbreaking” experiments show the north and south poles of two magnets are attracted to each other while same poles repel each other.

He concludes this “means that man cannot attract another man because they are the same, and a woman should not attract a woman because they are the same. That is how I used physics to prove gay marriage wrong.”

Let me single out something again:

… his “groundbreaking” experiments show the north and south poles of two magnets are attracted to each other while same poles repel each other.

… this “means that man cannot attract another man because they are the same, and a woman should not attract a woman because they are the same. That is how I used physics to prove gay marriage wrong.”

Can someone explain to me how much of a moron you need to be to draw the conclusion that gay sex, gay marriage, equal rights for gays, anything, is wrong because of the scientific truth that opposite magnetic poles attract and equal magnetic poles do not?

I fully expect this guy’s “research,” and I use that term with extreme contempt, suffers from a severe case of confirmation bias.

Well, I would expect that only if there was any way to make that leap of logic.

There isn’t.

It would as if I published a paper that said Albertans are all inbred because the offspring of a horse and a donkey is sterile. There is no connection between the two.

Yeah. I give up.

Thankfully.

