Four years later

I was looking at my calendar yesterday and I realized I left my job in Meadow Lake four years ago yesterday.

It doesn’t feel that long ago.

As I’ve written here and in other places, I have really mellowed on that experience. In the weeks and months immediately after I left there, I was really sour. I regretted the entire experience. I thought I was an idiot for jumping at the first job offer I received. I felt I was sorely mistreated, that they wanted more out of me and had no willingness to nurture me.

While some of those feelings do remain, I have realized it was perhaps the best thing I could have done. It was the kick in the pants I needed to understand what the real world is like.

It just took me a while to realize it.

I’ll be back later to write about other, less nostalgic things.

