School

Hello September! How did you get here so quickly? It feels like June was just yesterday.

And with Labour Day coming up tomorrow, things are about to get more alive out here in Westlock as kids return to school.

But, I’m not sure how I feel about that. The idea of returning to school, I mean.

This September is the fifth straight September I am not returning to school. This follows on the heels of 19 consecutive Septembers going to some type of school. In that time, school had become a routine. I knew what I was doing pretty much every day. Sure, there were some variations, especially in my university days. But otherwise, I pretty much was in the same place for the same time for 10 months of the year.

Now, I have to admit having a full-time job is much the same. I am in the office pretty much 9 a.m. until 5 p.m. every day. But the payoff is a lot more tangible, as I’m getting paid to be there.

Anyway. I have been thinking of how I feel about not returning to school. It is an adjustment not doing something that I spent most of my life doing.

On the other hand, freedom (however relative it is) is certainly nice. I can do what I want, when I want.

Plus having the money to do that stuff isn’t that bad.

