Curling

I finally tried curling some time in the early months of 2011.

Then I finally curled in a league during the 2011-2012 curling season.

After somehow missing the sign-up for league play in the 2012-2013 season, I thought I was doomed to a season with no curling.

Nope.

I found a way to get on a team for the Westlock mixed bonspiel the last few days.

It was certainly an experience. We started the bonspiel Friday night with a shutout win, which is difficult in curling. Seriously. How do you get up 7-0 after three ends? So that was a quick opening win.

The second game was Saturday. I can’t exactly remember how the scoring went, other than we fell down fairly early, and then clawed our way back bit-by-bit before hitting a five-spot. At that point, our opponents conceded the game.

So, we’re sitting at 2-0 and ready for a Sunday-morning ‘A’ event semifinal.

Well, that didn’t go very well. My touch escaped me, as it did for just about everyone else on my team. The result? A 10-0 loss after five ends.

So ended my first bonspiel.

And now I’m stoked for the 2013-2014 season.

I love this sport.

