Editorship

I am the editor of the Westlock News now.

This is my second editorship, after having been in control of the reins of the Barrhead Leader.

I have to say that occupying this role is both fun and challenging. It’s fun because I am the last line of defence, so to speak, when it comes to submissions in the forms of letters and other story ideas.

But it’s challenging because my duties have somewhat doubled. Now I am responsible for making sure I complete the stories I choose to take on, as well as making sure the story list is as full as possible. Sure, I am not the only one who has to come up with stories for the paper, but as the editor the brunt of that duty falls to me.

I’m not complaining. I do relish the added gravitas I now get to wield, even though I don’t act like it’s a big deal. That’s because it’s really not. Other than keeping the list ship-shape, things really haven’t changed in the newsroom.

Except for adjusting to my reporter. But that’s the case any time you change jobs or get new coworkers — there’s a feeling out period until both parties are comfortable with each other. And so far, things are going smoothly. This is going to be fun.

I hope.

