Hockey’s back

Well, you would think that I would be excited that the lockout ended a while ago, and that today was/is the first day of the new (2012-)2013 NHL season.

And if you were aware I am a huge Habs fan, it would make sense for you to believe that.

Alas, I don’t particularly care.

With this being the second lockout/strike in my life (that I remember), and that the last one was only eight seasons ago, I have managed to lose my love of the game for the time being.

Of course, the Toronto Blue Jays’ off-season moves have had a part to play in how much I care about hockey right now. I am more stoked for the 2013 MLB season than I have been for a baseball season in a long while.

How long until Spring Training, again?

But back to hockey. Living in Canada, hockey is huge, which is going to make boycotting the sport until at least the playoffs quite difficult.

But, damn it, I’m going to try. It’s going to be hard, what with being in the media biz and a Twitter user, but I’m going to do my best to ignore what happens on the ice.

And now, time to make me some tea or hot chocolate and curl up with Bram Stoker’s Dracula.

