I review my 2012, pt. 4

Well, it’s time to get to wrapping up my 2012.

In this chapter, we look at what happened in my life in the months of October, November and December.

In October I was quite settled back into my return in Westlock. Life at home was pretty good. I was happy with living with people again. As much as it’s nice to be able to do what I want when I want, there is something to be said about having humans around you can talk to and interact with. As October progressed, it got colder. We had snow before Halloween. For Halloween, I had plans to sit in a lawn chair with a pumpkin on my head and scare the everliving snot out of kids who came up our walkway. Nope. Never did it. It was too cold and I wasn’t willing to sit out there for a few hours. Maybe next year.

November was blah. Winter set in, but for the first time since I lived at home, I had a garage in which to park my car. The fact that’s my highlight of November tells you a lot.

Now, as for December. What can I say?

In December I boarded a plane back to Hogtown for a wedding. Not just any wedding, mind you. It was the wedding of one of my best friends. I cried. Not at the ceremony. Not even really at the reception. But it was at the reception, when I pulled the bride aside and asked her about something her new-hubby had told me. I won’t recount that here, because I don’t want to give away everything about me.

While home I also managed to see people I hadn’t seen in years, and others I’d just seen in July when I was last home. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again here — letters, email, phone calls and texting can only do so much to keep in touch with friends; in the end you need to have physical contact to maintain that connection.

So there we have it. A very disjointed and rather pathetic recap of what my 2012 was like. And it only took me two weeks to finish.

