Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde

A fair while ago, I read Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde, the famous story by Robert Louis Stevenson.

You know the one. It’s the one about the man who occupies two distinct personalities in the same body, but both personalities manifest themselves in different physical ways. In other words, there is no way to tell from appearance that the two personalities are the same person.

With that out of the way, it’s time to get back on task.

I liked this book, even though it didn’t quite match up with what I was expecting.

You see, I’ve seen various takes on the story, and they may have clouded what I thought the story was really about. Still, those takes I had seen did not drastically affect my hopes. They were just different.

So, yes, this was an interesting story, even though it took some getting into. It’s not that straightforward a story, with the narration coming from different sources. But even so, there are worse and harder-to-understand stories I’ve read.

Such as…

The Weir of Hermiston

For some reason, my version of Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde included a number of other R.L. Stevenson stories.

Mostly they were OK, and quite interesting. The Body Snatcher was quite a good read, and fairly easy to get into. Markheim was confusing because I couldn’t fully understand the protagonist’s motives off the bat. The Bottle Imp was the easiest to read, and pretty much kept me riveted.

But not so The Weir of Hermiston.

That is a horrible story. Some parts of if I could get through and enjoy. But others were like marching through a metre of snow with a 50-pound backpack on. In other words, it was only a sheer feat of will to get through it. I only finished the story as quick as I did because I read it in court during recesses, as well as taking advantage (and I use that term loosely) of being in a plane for three to four hours.

I am so happy I finished that story, but I am not happy to have wasted my time reading it.

