Wizard of Oz

First of all, Happy 2013!

I will endeavour to get my annual Year in Review post(s) up soon. I have this upcoming weekend off, so I will try to devote some time to compiling my YiR then.

But until then…

I have seen “The Wizard of Oz” film several times. The most recent time I saw it was less than a week ago. And as I was watching it there were scenes I don’t remember from past viewings. Oh well, it happens.

What made me watch the movie again was that I had finally picked up the book, The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, on which the movie is based.

Reading the book has led me to this one conclusion — it’s time for a remake of “The Wizard of Oz.”

This remake should be more true to the book than is the original 1939 version.

Our cinematic technologies have advanced to the point where it would be possible to recreate some of the scenes from the book that are not in the film.

I would like to see the various Oz creatures on screen. This isn’t the 1930s where special effects are clearly fake. We have the technology to do things that look real. And we should use that technology.

As for the book itself, it is quite different from the movie, and not always for the better. I found the book to be too short with a lot of the character building that is found in the movie. And I also felt it was quite disjointed. Each chapter was pretty much its own short story, with not all that much tying them all together.

I understand that in a film there really needs to be an overarching narrative that a book does not, but in this case I found the lack of a strong narrative problematic.

Now, I know the narrative was getting Dorothy back to Kansas, but I didn’t feel it held things together as well as the Wicked Witch narrative did in the film.

Truthfully, I don’t know how well I would have survived the book if I had not seen the movie already.

Still, it’s a good book. Pick it up. Read it.

