Farewell Rob Ford

I made this comment on my Facebook recently, but I shall repeat it.

Calling a spade a spade, what RoFo did, in and of itself, was not enough to warrant getting ousted from office. He debated and voted on a motion concerning ~3 000 $. That amount of money, for someone of his means, is not a big deal. And as much as I despise the man, what he was raising the money for is a fairly respectable cause.

However, what it comes down to is he broke the law.

As a city councillor, one cannot use one’s office for personal gain. Or for gain of a personal cause. Now, if RoFo and DoFo had abstained themselves from a debate and vote on giving money to RoFo’s charity, and the city gave money to RoFo’s charity, then I would have no problem with that.

But no. RoFo (as I understand it) solicited donations using his city letterhead. That’s patently illegal.

And then add in the fact that RoFo brazenly admitted he has never read the city councillor’s handbook of rules, etc. in court.

Sorry, RoFo, but the rules DO apply to you.

You broke them. You deserve your fate.

