Colorado shootings

First thing I thought when I saw that there was a shooting in a movie theatre showing the new Batman movie was that it happened in Aurora, Ont. Why? Because the first tweet I saw about it when I checked my Twitter said “#Aurora” and #Col”.

I was unaware there was an Aurora in Colorado. And I thought maybe there’s a theatre in Aurora, Ont. called the coliseum (or however it’s spelt).

I also had not turned on the radio yet, so I was truly in the dark about what had happened.

But once I learned the truth, all that I previously thought didn’t matter. All that mattered is that someone went into a theatre and shot several innocent people, killing some of them.

Once the facts were known, all that mattered were those facts.

All this is to say that I don’t believe CelebBoutique was being malicious in its tweet about its Aurora dress being the reason for the hashtag #Aurora while it was trending.

The company’s explanation is enough for me, because what it ultimately comes down to is that just because something happens in the U.S., that doesn’t mean the rest of the world needs to take notice immediately. The company is based in the U.K. (or so I have read), so perhaps it is legitimate that they were unaware of the reason behind the trending of #Aurora.

And to everyone who may be encouraging a boycott of the company, I really only have this to say: I highly doubt you’ve never stuck your foot in your mouth.

Everyone makes mistakes. CelebBoutique has owned up to it. All we can do as consumers and family and friends of the victims is take the company at its word.

For note, here are some links to the story as covered by various media outlets.

CelebBoutique Tweet Riffs On Aurora ‘Batman’ Shooting: UPDATED

‘Dark Knight Rises’ shooting: Twitter outrage as clothing boutique tries to capitalize on ‘Aurora’ dress

Celeb Boutique Twitter Account Tries To Capitalize On The Fact That Aurora (Colorado) Is A Trending Topic

Horrible E-Boutique Uses Dark Knight Rises Tragedy To Sell Dresses

Clothing retailer’s insensitive #Aurora tweet enrages Internet

NRA magazine, Celebboutique.com delete tweets after Colorado theater shooting

