2012 Stanley Cup Playoff predictions – Conference Finals

I don’t know what to say here. Compared to my previous years of being bang-on in my predictions, this year has been a total disaster for me.

After a first round where I went 4-4 in my predictions, the second round was far and away a disaster when up against previous playoffs.

Let’s recap.

New York Rangers 4-3 Washington Capitals (right team, wrong games)

Philadelphia Flyers 1-4 New Jersey Devils (wrong team)

St. Louis Blues 0-4 Los Angeles Kings (wrong team)

Phoenix Coyotes 4-1 Nashville Predators (wrong team)

In short, I went 1-3 in the second round. Now, there are some positives to be noticed. The Flyers lost, which is actually good news, because Philly deserves shitty teams that never win. The Flyers are a disgrace to hockey, and if there was a way to go back in time and prevent them from winning their two Stanley Cups in the 1970s, I would. But, yet again they won’t win it this year, so all is well in the world.

I am also flabbergasted at the Predators being dismantled by the Coyotes. I really had Nashville going at least to the Western Conference Final. Apparently that’s not going to happen this year.

OK. On to my predictions for the conference finals.

Eastern Conference Final

1 New York Rangers v. 6 New Jersey Devils

These two teams could take the subway to their games (unless the NYC subway doesn’t go to Newark). Both these teams are not quite known for their offensive prowess this year, but they have weapons. And they both have goalies who are very good, although Martin Brodeur is getting old. This has the makings of a long, low-scoring affair, with the winner being the Rangers in 7.

Western Conference Final

3 Phoenix Coyotes v. 8 Los Angeles Kings

Who saw both these teams getting this far? I sure didn’t. The Kings are better than I expected them to be in the playoffs, but they’re every bit what they were expected to be before the puck dropped to start the regular season. On the other hand, the Coyotes are getting it done, but no one’s really sure how. They’re a bunch of spare parts working as a team, and it’s a model that’s had great for them. But in the end, I feel the Kings are on fire, so I’m going with Kings in 6.

There we have it. My predictions for the NHL’s conference finals. Here’s hoping I can redeem myself and get closer to a .500 record. So far, 4-4 and 1-3 is only 5-7. I need to nail the final three series to pull it out.

