Then again…

I don’t generally weigh in on issues in the U.S., mainly because I don’t generally care about what happens down there.

Sure, U.S. politics affects Canada. I don’t like that it does, but it does. It’s what we as Canadians get for sharing a continent with the U.S.

But what I have just learned about the goings on in North Carolina has me pretty ticked off. [As a note, reading about what happened there, I learned it’s not just a one-off. But for the sake of this post, we shall deal strictly with that single state.]

North Carolina passes Amendment 1 banning same-sex unions

At Last! North Carolina Becomes Final Southern State to Constitutionally Ban Gay Marriage!

I could include more sources, but I think these are good enough.

Oh, wait, there’s one more that I read a while ago, and I wanted to link to it because of a good quote. Here it is:

Amendment One, North Carolina Gay Marriage Ban, Passes Vote

OK, let’s get down to it, now that you know the background.

Wow, I knew the U.S. was pretty much a backwater refuge for bigots, but wow. Sorry, I need to alter that. I thought it was just U.S. politicians who were the crazy, hillbilly-esque bigots.

Nope. It’s also the general population as well. Or at least the general population of the south. Denying two people who love each other the right to marry solely because they’re both the same sex? What next, denying mixed-race marriages?

Wait, they already did that. And repealed it in the 1970s.

It’s outright discrimination to deny anyone any aspect of citizenship solely on the basis of something they cannot change. Born black? Sorry, no rights for you. Born gay? Sorry, no rights for you.

But it’s one quote in that Huffington Post piece that really sticks in my craw.

“I know that some people may argue that the Bible may not necessarily be applicable, or it should not be applicable, on such policy matters. But even looking at nature itself, procreation is impossible without a man and a woman. And because of those things, I think it is important that the state of North Carolina’s laws are compatible with the laws of nature but, more importantly, with the laws of God.

Joe Easterling, who described himself as a devout Christian, voted for the amendment at a polling place in Wake Forest.

[Emphasis added.]

THIS. This is why we need to take religion out of the public realm. This is the kind of B.S. I have been unable to buy into for years.

We can’t be allowing laws to be created and enforced based on fairy tales, because that’s all modern religion is. And that’s exactly what happened down in North Carolina. The voters in favour of this legislation believe that fairy tales are more important than human rights.

It’s likely a worn out analogy by now, but believing that something written in a book should be used as a basis of modern society is ridiculous. What this Easterling fellow is basically saying is akin to if I read A Brave New World and then demanded we sort people into the social strata Aldous Huxley did.

I’d be laughed out of society by most people. The ones who wouldn’t laugh at me would be exactly the ones you don’t want learning about Huxley’s novel.

What I’m getting at is we can’t let our laws be governed by a desire to follow an out-of-date book that has no bearing on modern life.

OK, I have to say the bible (I refuse to capitalize it) does have some useful parts. The Ten Commandments? Good rules to live by. Well, maybe that’s the only valuable part of it.

Now, since this Easterling fellow references god (again, no capitalization), I may as well explain where my total disregard for religion comes from.

I started school in 1990 at a Catholic elementary school. I went through Catholic education until the spring of 2005. I’m only 26 now. Do the math and you’ll see I spent over half my life – 15 years – in Catholic school.

And in those 15 years, the only thing Catholic school did to me with regards to religion was turn me off it. Those 15 years made me realize what bunk it all is.

In fact, I can recall the moment I realized Catholicism in particular, Christianity in general, and religion on the whole died as something to live by.

It was a Sunday and I was at church. I was talking with the parish friar, and he said something that was completely offensive to my sense of right and wrong. It happened to be the same day as the Toronto Gay Pride parade, and this friar said something basically equal to “I hope it rains on those nasty gays.”

Um, wow. Up to this point, I liked this friar. He told good stories, and seemed like a nice man. Now, here he is, wishing bad weather on people who only want to have a good time. People who only by accident of their birth were sexually attracted to the same sex. People who did not choose to be gay.

I couldn’t believe it. Up to that point, I thought god was bunk, but I grinned and went through the motions because my friends were at church too.

I actually kept going, mainly because I lived at home and was dragged along to church weekly.

But that moment really turned me off the whole Catholicism thing. I didn’t believe, in fact I knew it to be false, that gays made a choice to be gay. It was who they were. And here is someone I sort of looked up to basically hating these people for who they were. And why? Because some book and imaginary being said so.

Unacceptable.

Now, in case you’re wondering, no. I am not gay. To be honest, the idea of gay male sex is kind of gross. More to the point, I think anal sex (the primary method of gay male penetration) is gross. We won’t get into the whole sex act here, but that’s where I stand. Gay female sex is awesome, which I guess is something you would expect a heterosexual male to say. Yay! Lesbians! Woohoo!

But seriously. Fuck you North Carolina. You sicken me with this discrimination. Hopefully the children you’ve indoctrinated into your fairy-tale world will still have enough brain cells left when they come of age to see the total bullshit you’ve raised them on, and move to repeal this disgusting legislation so people who respect the “sanctity of marriage” more than you and your cousin-fucking and quick divorces do.

And scratch off another state I’ll never visit.

