Deathly Hallows, pt. 2

On Saturday evening, I went down to West Edmonton Mall to watch Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, pt. 2. I had been counting down the days until it opened, and knew I had to head down to Edmonton to see it the first weekend I had off to see it. Which I did.

So, what did I think of the film? I’ll tell you.

But first, I have to say I am hard to please when it comes to film adaptations of books, so maybe my analysis will come across as too harsh and pedantic.

Overall, I thought the film was well-done and as true as possible to the book. I actually have no arguments about how it was done leading up to the final battle of Hogwarts scenes.

At this point I might be spoiling it for some people, so the rest of this post will be placed under a cut.

In short, the way the battle of Hogwarts and the final showdown between Harry and Tom Riddle left a lot to be desired.

I was expecting a longer fight between Molly and Bellatrix, with Bellatrix taunting Molly more during their fight. Instead, we get Ginny almost dying, and then Molly appears and delivers her “Not my daughter, you bitch!” line and two or three spells cast with no dialogue and then Bellatrix disintegrates.

Furthermore, Harry was supposed to be under his cloak up to that point, and Tom Riddle was supposed to be in the same room.

And the final showdown. I wanted Harry to explain everything and taunt Tom the whole time. Nope. None of that. I was very, very disappointed with that.

And we had no final scene in the Headmaster’s office when Harry sums everything up with Dumbledore’s portrait. Gone. And why did he have to break the Elder Wand? He was supposed to use it to repair his own wand, and then place it back in Dumbledore’s tomb (at least I think that’s what he did in the book), since no one else would know who had it.

But no. The end just felt rushed.

I understand they can’t put the entire dialogue of the book into the movie, but I really had high expectations.

However, I was talking with one of my coworkers yesterday, and I told him that if I didn’t know the books, it was a really good movie. Anyone who has no knowledge of the books would not notice anything missing in the movie.

Not that anyone cares, but my rating of the movie is as follows:

— 4 / 5 (as a movie)

— 2.5 / 5 (based on my expectations)

