2011 NHL Playoffs – Round 1 Recap

Since I’m behind in my previews and recaps, this will be quick.

Eastern Conference

(1) Washington Capitals v. (8) New York Rangers

Capitals in 6

I got the winner right, but the games wrong. Actual result: Capitals in 5.

(2) Philadelphia Flyers v. (7) Buffalo Sabres

Flyers in 6

Again, the right winner but wrong games count. Actual: Flyers in 7.

(3) Boston Bruins v. (6) Montreal Canadiens

Bruins in 7

Unfortunately I nailed this one. Actual: Bruins in 7.

(4) Pittsburgh Penguins v. (5) Tampa Bay Lightning

Penguins in 6

I got this completely wrong. Actual: Lightning in 7.

Western Conference

(1) Vancouver Canucks v. (8) Chicago Blackhawks

Canucks in 6

Right winner, wrong games. Actual: Canucks in 7.

(2) San Jose Sharks v. (7) Los Angeles Kings

Sharks in 6

Nailed it. Actual: Sharks in 6.

(3) Detroit Red Wings v. (6) Phoenix Coyotes

Coyotes in 7

Boy, was I wrong. Actual: Red Wings in 4.

(4) Anaheim Ducks v. (5) Nashville Predators

Ducks in 7

Well, will you look at that, Nashville finally won a series and made my prediction wrong. Actual: Predators in 6.

So, my final tally for the first round is 5-3. On to round two.

