2010 in Review the second

Alright. On to part two of my analysis, as it were, of 2010. This chapter will deal with the second quarter of the year, the months of April, May and June.

To begin with, I will outline things that ended here that started before April. These include my indoor Ultimate season (co-Champions, baby!) and my first internship.

Professionally, like I just mentioned, I completed my first internship of 2010 in May. After that internship ended, I continued to apply for myriad jobs. I even approached my old workplace from the summer of 2008, but they had already stocked up for the summer, so I was out of luck there. In fact, if I recall correctly, I did not have any interviews during this time period, which is disappointing. Nonetheless, I continued to apply. I needed work.

Personally and socially, I joined two sporting associations during this timespan. The first was TUC again, this time for outdoor ultimate. Unfortunately this season would not be as great as my indoor season. Oh well, you can’t win them all. The other association I joined was the same dragonboat team I had paddled with in 2007 and 2008: Paddlers Anonymous. It was good to get back in with them after losing 2009. The only downside to joining PA again was having to see the exe again. And then they made me paddle in the same row as her. It made for some quiet practices, let me tell you. During these three months, PA took part in two regattas, winning hardware at both. Quite a good time, I have to say. The season, and that of my TUC team, continued into July and beyond and will be discussed tomorrow.

Hmm, so what more is there to say about April – June? To be honest, I don’t think there is much more. Ultimate finished. Ultimate started again. My internship ended. I started back up with PA. What more could there be?

Oh yeah! The playoff run.

For the first time since 1993, the MontrĂ©al Canadiens made it to the Conference Final. However, unlike 1993, that’s as far as they got. However, it was still a ride while it lasted. Knocking off the President’s Trophy winner and the reigning Stanley Cup champion, when they’re two different teams, in the same playoff run? It’s never been done. EVER. Until this year. The playoff run invigorated a city. It made Halak a synonym for ‘Stop!’ It was exciting. But it all came crashing down when the League decided it wanted the Flyers to play the Blackhawks in the Final. And we all know how that turned out.

Anyway. That’s pretty much it for the first half of 2010 now. Check back tomorrow for how I chose to recount the events of July, August and September of 2010.

