One Month

It’s come to my attention (i.e. I saw the calendar today) that I arrived here in Westlock exactly one month ago. It doesn’t feel like it’s been a month.

But it has been a month. And in that month I’ve done a lot of settling in. And more importantly, in that month I have enjoyed myself a lot more than I did in the nearly five months I was in Meadow Lake. [Speaking of Meadow Lake, I think I’ve reached the point where I can stop harping on the negative experiences I had there. Yes, it didn’t work out. But for the advancement of my career, I need to focus on the positives and stop bringing up the negatives. So, other than for comparison purposes, I shall consider my Meadow Lake experience to be over.]

This place is pretty nice. The people I have met are nice and seem to be more friendly than they were in Meadow Lake. But, for the most part, I attribute that to my desire to make this job a success. I have the right mindset, a mindset I did not have in Meadow Lake. And it seems that makes all the difference. If you want to make something a success, it will affect how you comport yourself.

I have spent a few late nights at the office. Not because I had to, but so that I could have more productive days. I never did that in Meadow Lake. [Ok, I am still harping on Meadow Lake. I guess that place is stuck in me.] It all comes down to my desire to make this job a success.

Now, another aspect of Westlock that makes it a better fit than Meadow Lake is its proximity to Edmonton. I need the city life. I need the anonymity. I need the hustle and bustle. The slower pace of country life is nice and all, but there are times I need to head to a mall or a downtown to simply escape into the masses. That’s just what I’m used to. And as I was saying to some people in the office, the time it takes to get to Edmonton from Westlock is roughly equal to the time it took me to get to downtown Toronto from home on the bus and subway. So in that respect, it’s like I never left home. I guess you find your similarities if you look in the right places.

So that’s it. I’m here in Westlock, and while it’s not the most exciting place in the world, it’s quite nice. I can see myself being here in a year. Or not, but having moved on. Either or. We’ll have to see how things go.

In other news, this will be the first Christmas ever I have been away from home. Luckily, the other reporter with the paper has invited me to come to his parents’ place for dinner. Naturally, I have accepted. It should be a nice day.

