Leduc is my hero

The city of Leduc, Alta. has passed a bylaw prohibiting people from smoking in their cars if any passengers are 18 years of age or younger.

This is a wonderful idea. And one whose time should have come years ago. It’s such a no-brainer that the fact it needs to be made a bylaw is ludicrous. Seriously.

Ok, so if you know me you know I cannot stand smoking. I will not date a girl, no matter who she is, if she smokes. I can’t look past that flaw. I think smokers are stupid and weak. Why would you knowingly use a product that, if used properly, kills its users?

So it should come as no surprise that I endorse this move.

Does it invade on the choices private citizens are free to make? Absolutely. Should it matter that it does? No. This bylaw is about protecting children. Why, as a parent, would you subject your child to having to inhale cigarette smoke?

How is it that to do so in a private home is not considered child abuse? You’re making your child inhale deadly chemicals. Of course it’s child abuse.

With that in mind, I don’t think this bylaw goes far enough. The Alberta government, in fact all Canadian governments, needs to jump on this bandwagon and make it a criminal offence to smoke in ANY contained area where children under 18 are present. Car, home, anything; it doesn’t matter.

Call me a supporter of the Nanny State if you want. In this case, I fully support such an initiative. I don’t smoke, so what risk do I run of getting charged?

In other news, I’m glad I don’t live in the Hwy. 402 (Ontario) corridor. That is some snowstorm.

