Truly I am a Journalist

I say this because I did an interview today. And man, was my source pissed. At me. And my paper.

He accused me of unfairly harping on a topic, attacking him and his organization when he and it are trying to do the right thing.

He said I should be supportive of an initiative and I should not be trying to bring the initiative down.

I swear, I didn’t know what to say when he basically attacked me. It was something I’ve never encountered, a source being so angry at me.

But what it comes down to is this: I’m paid to ask the questions. Whether or not I support any initiative is not germane to the discussion (although, I do support the initiative). The reason I am asking these questions is to square why it is the organization says it is doing things one way, and then running a flyer supporting another POV in its newsletter.

I will get up the audio of my interview with this source in due time, after the paper it is in has hit newstands.

