Markham Home Invasion, pt. 2

I don’t know what to say.

When I first heard about this home invasion on Nov. 9, I was shocked with what happened. Think about it, how would you feel if you heard the mother of a girl you went to high school with had been killed in a home invasion? I can imagine you would feel horrible. And shocked.

Now, I don’t know what to think. Now, the girl has been charged with first-degree murder, among other charges. To wit:

Daughter charged in Markham home invasion (TorStar)

Daughter charged in deadly Markham home invasion (CBC)

Daughter charged in GTA home-invasion killing (CTV)

Daughter helped hatch home invasion plot and kill mom, police say (G & M)

This isn’t the Jen I knew. Frankly, I don’t believe this. Yes, I understand things are not always what they seem. But still. This isn’t something I would ever imagine from my friends.

I will admit there are some people I know, who if they were to do what Jen is alleged to have done, I would not be completely surprised. I would be surprised, but not as shocked as I am right now.

But I guess this lays some credence to the “Classmates who attended high school several years ago with their daughter and her boyfriend” quoted in this Toronto Sun article may have known more than I thought I did.

Naturally, I will continue to follow this case from Westlock, Alta.

