New Life and New Name

Ok. So here it is. My last post before I move out. Again.

Am I ready to move out? I don’t completely think so. I don’t think I could ever be 100 per cent ready to move out. Unless, of course, I were moving into a downtown apartment. That would be much easier. Anyway.

As many of you all know, I have recently accepted a job as reporter / photographer with the Westlock News. From everything I have read, Westlock is similar in size to Meadow Lake, which makes me naturally apprehensive of going up there. But on the other hand, this time I am only an hour from Edmonton, where I have friends. So I am confident this will be a much more rewarding experience than was my Meadow Lake one.

However, I am NOT looking forward to the drive. It’s a long one, and if you know me, you know I don’t particularly like having a car. And I am not a huge fan of driving if I don’t have to. With this in mind, I am likely going to be complaining every minute of every day on my drive out there.

And when I say it will be a long drive, I mean it. The plan as it stands is as follows: Sault Ste. Marie, Nipigon, Kenora, Brandon, Saskatoon, Westlock. Of course, this is subject to change based on weather and hotel availability. And whether or not I’m crazy. Moving on.

As I write this, I am sitting in my living room, looking at what we plan to pack into my car. We know it fits as we did a test pack shortly before my interview that yielded this job. And looking at the stuff on the floor and couches, the finality of this situation continues to sink in. Yes, this is the right choice. Again. Yes, it is going to be hard to move out again. But I don’t know what I’m missing had I turned down the offer. And for that reason, I go.

This is a new chapter in my life. I want this experience to be successful. Frankly, I cannot afford yet another failure. I know what is expected of me, and I know what it will take to be successful. Now I just have to put those thoughts into action. That’s easier said than done.

But it is what it is. I have friends in Edmonton. I have friends in Calgary. I had nothing in Saskatchewan (well, my aunt who’s younger than me was there, but by that time I was done, so she doesn’t count). And that should make all the difference.

In other news, you may have noticed a different name at the top of this blog. And a different appearance altogether. As I will no longer be residing in Toronto (The Centre of the Universe), I felt it appropriate to change this blog’s name. I feel going back to “City Boy in a Small Town” is an appropriate title, as it sums up what I am doing, and is a title with some name recognition.

