Captain Gionta

Well, perhaps the worst-kept secret of the past few days is out: Brian Gionta is the new captain of the Montréal Canadiens.

My first thought is this: It doesn’t quite have the same ring to it as Captain Koivu did.

My second thought: I’m kinda disappointed because I thought Mike Cammalleri would have made an excellent captain.

But, all that being said, I think this is an absolutely exceptional choice. From what I saw of Brian this past season, and how he handled the media, I have nothing against this appointment. Brian never seemed to shy away from the media, which in Montréal I am sure many players would love to do.

Now, I don’t think this will be Brian’s team in the same way other captains on other teams seem to monopolize and embody the team. We saw last year when the team had no captain, that it was leadership by committee. I think that will continue here. Brian will be more or less a figurehead, the person to talk to the media on behalf of the team. In the dressing room, the status quo from last year will continue. At least that’s my opinion.

Now, Brian, you better make a token effort to learn French. You don’t need to be fluent, but you had better learn enough so you can talk to kids when you meet them in the street. Things like ‘hello’ and ‘how are you?’. That’s all I ask of you relating to language.

