I hope the Price is Right

Ok, I truly hate making that pun. But it does write itself.

So, Carey “The Franchise” Price has signed a 2-year, $5.5 million contract with the Habs. I think it’s a fair value and term. It gives the Habs two years to continue to evaluate Price, all the while keeping the cap hit reasonable. So, I like the deal.

I still believe Price is the goalie of the future, and I want him to succeed. But at the same time he does have to prove he is the future. He still needs to improve, both on the ice and mentally. And it’s the mental side of his game I worry about.

Will Price have a strong, >25-win season? I hope so. Is 30+ wins a possibility? Maybe. The kid has the raw talent to make it happen. I won’t go into his track record in the WJHC and AHL, as I think at this point it’s a case of ‘what have you done for me lately?’. But it can’t be forgotten what he has done.

I think in the end, it’s going to be a rough season regardless. I am not going to put too much stock into Price’s win-loss record this year as I am his GAA and save percentage. The lower and higher those are, respectively, will tell me what kind of goalie he is. The win-loss record is dependent in large part on the goal support he receives.

Let’s go Habs.

