One year ago

It has come to my realization that exactly one year ago today, I hopped on a plane to fly from The Centre of the Universe (i.e. Toronto) to The Middle of Butt-f*** Nowhere (i.e. Meadow Lake, SK).

It doesn’t feel like it was a year ago I left everything I ever knew and everyone I loved and who loved me to move to a town of fewer than 6,000 people. But it has been.

Now, let’s be honest. As much as it didn’t work out, and for whatever reasons (you can, however, ask me about the reasons and I will be candid about them), it was an experience. Don’t get me wrong. It was an experience, and in the not-too-distant future I will finally acknowledge how much of a good experience it was. But I am still bitter about it. And I am still not planning to leave this city again until I have to. I do need to let go of my bitterness over the whole experience. It was overall a learning experience, as I learned how to cook for myself (OK, that’s a lie; I wasn’t there long enough to really break out my cooking skills), I learned how to budget (again, that’s more or less a lie) and I learned that the working world is full of jerks (OK, I knew that before I got there; this experience merely reinforced my beliefs).

OK, so maybe I learned nothing. I am bad at missing subtle hints. Hell, I’m even bad at missing blunt messages.

But the fact of the matter is one year ago I left on a jet plane for Meadow Lake, SK and now I am back home. In a way, it’s as if I never left.

