Smokers

As many of you likely know, I think smoking is just about the stupidest thing a person can do. In fact, if I were an irrational person, I would want it banned outright. Alas, I know that will never happen thanks to the large amount of tax revenue smoking provides for the government. Absent the obvious problem of illegal cigarettes.

But, sadly, I do believe I have softened my stance somewhat. I now don’t necessarily view smoking as such a bad thing. I figure, if you’re going to voluntarily kill yourself, so be it.

However, I will say that the prime target of my hatred towards smoking must be levelled against smokers who throw their butts around all willy-nilly.

I mean, seriously people. How hard is it to stomp out your spent cigarette, make sure it’s cooled off, and throw it in the garbage. Especially when you’re out in the rain, or in the snow. Snuff out your cigarette and then throw it in the garbage. The ground is not your personal trash can.

My nature should not be ruined because you’re too lazy to carry your butt inside, or (as is often the case) the extra three feet to the garbage can.

As it is, I’m already paying higher taxes thanks to your decision to smoke and then need medical care because your lungs look like they’ve been kicked around in the mud for a week and you can’t walk more than two metres before you’re short of breath.

This country needs to update its medical system. Smokers should lose their right to it. Is that a controversial stance? You’re damn right it is. But I’m tired of subsidizing the longer lifespans of people who are willingly poisoning themselves.

-30-

