Spring has Sprung

So now that spring is upon us (not that you’d know it based on the weather), it’s time to look back on the winter we had.

Oh, that’s right. We didn’t have a winter this year. At least not a winter I would classify as a winter.

Let’s look at some facts, shall we?

Here are some numbers from the 2009-2010 winter. Please note I am using the values at Buttonville Airport, as that is the one closest to where I live.

Average High: 0.9 C

Average Low: -6.7 C

Average Mean: -2.9 C

Total Rain: 80.2 mm

Total Snow: 51.2 cm

(courtesy: Environment Canada)

Do any of these numbers look like winter numbers? An average high above zero? I don’t think so.

I had plans to go sledding down the hill in Riverdale Park. Didn’t happen. We didn’t get enough snow.

Through most of the year, when I was coming home from anywhere and the people on the radio were talking about the nice weather we were having, I was constantly muttering “Worst. Winter. Ever.” And with just cause, if I do say so.

I remember one winter my school closed for a day or two. We had a fence around our front yard. It was just about covered by the snow.

I remember another winter (which may have been the same winter) when my friends and I dug a tunnel through a snow heap.

I also remember the winter of 2007-2008, also known as third year university. I was in Ottawa. It was Ottawa’s second snowiest winter ever. Over 411 cm of snow fell that winter. Granted, that also included snow that fell during autumn and spring, whereas my numbers are only from Dec. 21 to Mar. 19.

I have seen winters. This was not one of them.

It was too warm.

It lacked sufficient snow to be called winter.

Let’s only hope spring and summer live up to their names.

