Media Commentary – Sex and Education

So, it appears the U.S. has just completely gone off the deep end. Yes, that is generalizing.

And it also appears the dictionary is on par with other objectionable tomes as . . . well, I don’t know. I have never understood the concept of objectionable literature. I believe nothing should be off limits.

Just read these:

‘Oral sex’ definition prompts dictionary ban in US schools

Dictionary banned for containing sexual words

U.S. school bans the dictionary

SoCal district pulls dictionaries over sex term

Dictionary definition raises ruckus at Menifee school

And there are others as well that discuss this. I won’t say all that much on this, other than this is the stupidest thing I have ever seen. Until the next one. Let’s get one thing straight here: it’s the dictionary! Of course it’s going to have ‘objectionable’ words in it! And besides, kids aren’t going to look up ‘objectionable’ words unless they have already encountered them. I know I wouldn’t have looked up ‘oral sex’ when I was in elementary school. Two reasons for this: 1- that wasn’t something I was exposed to at that age, and 2- that’s not what I would have called it when I was that age.

——

Now, another thing that crossed my life this morning: Toronto Shakespeare production too racy for Nashville.

I will let you listen to this piece CBC’s Metro Morning did on it to get a better grasp on what happened.

Now, I am an educated person (or so I think), and most of the time I didn’t catch all the dirty jokes Shakespeare put in his plays. And I still don’t. It’s a different form of English than that which I speak. So I don’t see how there is anything ‘impure’ with Shakespeare’s plays. But that’s just me.

The long and short of this is: don’t try to rewrite Shakespeare. If you don’t want to expose your children to sexualized content in their lives, start at home with the TV and the Internet. Both those media are considerably more sexualized than anything you will find in Shakespeare.

