some things I’ve been doing

Happy October!

So, as some of you may know, but many of you probably don’t, I have been going to one of the elementary schools here in ML to read with the Grade 1s. I have to say, on the whole, it’s quite the fun thing to do. The kids who can read are basically telling me stories. However, the ones who can’t read so well are more of a struggle. I have to remember these kids are in Grade 1, and thus are not amazing readers. And I have to remember that I was a strong reader in Kindergarten, and so when I was in Grade 1 I was considerably better than these kids are. I think I’m going to be sad when I have to leave them. Not a lot, because I’ve known I’m leaving before I started, but still a bit.

In other news, I will be going down to Saskatoon next weekend to visit my aunt who is going to uSask for law school. That should be fun. Not as amazing a place as Jasper and Edmonton, but it will be me visiting family. That’s usually not a bad thing. Shopping awaits! (yeah, right </sarcasm>)

And, of course, today marks the first game of the 2009-2010 NHL season. Go Habs Go!

