stargazing

So I finally got around to driving out of town, away from the lights, to look at the stars.

It didn’t go that well.

Yes, I did see the stars better than I have in years. And I saw the Milky Way for the first time since I had been up at the cottage many years ago.

But.

Because I was on the highway doing this, I had to contend with cars and trucks driving along, with their bright headlights ruining the dark. So that wasn’t cool.

Plus, there’s the whole idea of standing by the side of the road in the dark of night with these giant logging trucks going by. It’s f***ing scary, I tell you.

Overall, however, the trucks and cars weren’t that annoying, because they came by every few minutes, not all the time.

What was a piss off, on the other hand, was this flashing light further south of where I was, and high enough that the trees alongside he highway couldn’t block it out. Stupid flashing light. I couldn’t gaze south because the light was too bright and distracting.

But I did see a shooting star.

