school’s back, but I’m not

I posted yesterday. I don’t do encores very often. Nevertheless.

It’s the year 2009. I am 23 now. According to my mom, whom I for the most part trust, I have been going to school since 1990. Which, if you do the math, means I have been going to school for 19 years of my life. Or, put more shockingly, I have not been going to school for four years of my life. The first four no less.

The past 19 Septembers (or Augusts as was the case for some of university) have seen me getting ready to go to school, be it Kindergarten, Grades 1-8, Grades 9-12, OAC (which didn’t exist at the time, but I still call it that) or university. It’s been a routine that has become second nature, as it’s been a given that when September rolls around, I head off to school.

No more. And it feels weird. September is right around the corner, and I’m in the middle of Saskatchewan and I’m not going anywhere. I’m here and school is for the first time going ahead without me. [Briefly, a disclaimer: School up here in ML started Aug. 25. No idea why, apparently that’s the way things work here.]

I don’t know where I’m going with this. I think it’s just another example of how this is it. This is real life. No more going to sit in a room to be lectured at or engage in discussions about whatever we were just lectured about.

So yeah. No idea what I’m talking about anymore. Feel free to comment and try to figure out what I mean to say.

