Media Commentary – August 3, 2009

I want to discuss briefly the phenomenon of a news item shifting its importance as the day progresses. I use as my example the tragedy that took place at the Big Valley Jamboree in Camrose, AB.

Yesterday morning I awoke at 9.00am to the Sunday morning World Report on the Mother Corp. The top news story was about one person being killed and at least 15 being injured at a country music festival in Camrose, AB. [I bolted upright, knowing someone who was there. I was scared s***less. But that’s not my point here. She’s OK, so it’s all good.] I normally keep the Mother Corp. on all day, so I paid special attention to how long Big Valley remained the top news story. I believe by the 10.30 or 11.00am news, news broke about two soldiers being killed in Afghanistan. By noon, Big Valley was relegated to being the second story on the news. Then it became known that Karlheinz Schreiber had lost his appeals to stay in Canada, and he was ordered to report to jail to be deported. This moved Big Valley to third in line. And now this morning, as I sit listening to the 9.00am news, Big Valley is in third place behind the BC fires and Karlheinz Schreiber. In fact, we now know the name of the person who was killed. I will not repeat it here.

So to sum up (to the best of my memory):
Su 9.00am -> Big Valley is top news
Su 11.00am -> second
Su 4.00pm -> third
M 8.00am -> first
M 9.00am -> third

So, we can see how events can change their importance as other events take place, and new information becomes available.

Fun, no?

