Fun day

I wasn’t going to post for a while, as in not until July 11 when I would have been in this town for two months, minus the time I took off to return to Ottawa to graduate.

So I met a cool girl today. But, it turns out she has a boyfriend, so I won’t be going out with her.

Okay, that’s not the point of this post. Far from it. I just wanted to antagonize my antagonist.

On to brass tacks.

I went kayaking today. I was expecting to be one of a few people to go canoeing (kayak is an option ML Provincial Park offers) with at least one member of the park staff. Nope. I was the only one there. So Amber (the park staff person) and I took a two-person kayak out. Actually, the park only has two-person kayaks, so I likely would have had a partner anyway.

Actually, and this is funny when you think about it, both Amber and I had never done kayaking before. Somehow we managed.

Kayaking is certainly different than canoeing (which I haven’t done in a while) and dragonboat (which I miss terribly, I have to admit). If you’ve seen kayaking before, you know it’s paddling both sides at the same time, alternating. Yes, that sounds contradictory, but watch some kayaking and you’ll see how right I am in my assessment.

My arms hurt when we were done. Don’t tell me I’m supposed to use my core muscles to paddle. I know how to paddle. I DON’T know how to kayak. Hence I was doing it for the first time today. But neither did Amber, so I figure her arms were/are likely sore as well.

But the best part of the whole experience was when we headed into Hidden Bay for some less public paddling.

No, it’s not what you think you sick f***s. She has a boyfriend, I thought I mentioned that.

No, this Hidden Bay place is a bay on the lake on which we paddled that is sheltered, so it’s wicked calm. And it was. But that’s not the best part.

We saw a pelican and at least one beaver. And of course, a beaver lodge to accompany the beaver.

But the best by far was the loons. My god, how I have missed the loon’s call from when I used to spend time at the cottage. I may be a city boy, and f***ing proud of it, but I can appreciate rural and cottage life every once in a while. And I have missed the cottage.

But the loons. There were at least three of them. We got really close to two of them, and they were courting or something like that. Well, I really wish I had a way to keep my camera safe on the water, because the loons breeched for us. I probably would not have been able to get a shot of them breeching, but just to have had the camera would have given me a chance.

And then they swam away, underwater.

So we went back around the bay, and heard one loon calling for its mate, or that’s what I think it was doing. Boy, are loons’ calls’ echoes loud. (Hopefully my possessives are in the right places.) Especially when you’re pretty much right on top of them. Yes, I got extremely close to a loon. And again I wished I had my camera.

But all this loon was doing was calling out for its mate. I don’t know how to describe the sound it was making, maybe sort of like a clicking or something would be adequate. But suffice it to say it wasn’t making its haunting call.

I said to Amber, “I’m pretty much going to have to wait until the evening for its ‘hoo,’ aren’t I?” (The ‘hoo’ being what we called its haunting call.)

Not even five minutes later, once it had found its mate, one of them let out the haunting call. That was certainly worth the wait.

Damn I miss my cottage now. I really do.

So that’s pretty much my story for the day. I went kayaking and saw and heard loons. There were other birds, like the pelican. And there were other animals, like the beaver and many flies (dragon~, damsel~, etc.). It was an overall good day.

Part of me hopes I’m sore in the morning.

